Greener Grass

DSC02244_edit 1

I’m fortunate enough to live in perhaps the most conveniently located area of the city; I can get to any T line within 10 minutes, South Station in 15, walk to work in 20. It doesn’t get too much better, not to toot my own horn too much. And yet…

All I want to do is move. I want space, I want a yard for my dog, I want to see more homes and less offices, to be just about anywhere but here. Why? I don’t have any idea. I kid myself that Boston proper is too touristy, too commercial, and that other areas of town have more “character.” But it’s just one of those lies we all tell ourselves to convince ourselves that we have every right to be unhappy. A lie meant to prop up our unnecessary self-pity.

Don’t fret, I’m not actually unhappy. I’m just used to the routine ow, and I want something new. I’m restless, I suppose. But I know exactly how to (if only temporarily) break out of my rut –

Drink coffee in a new place.

Enter Bourbon Coffee in Porter Square. I know, I’m a true adventurer. But Bourbon really is great; they’re a small, international chain selling coffee from Rwanda, a well-known and loved region of coffee production. In my experience, African coffee in general is best in class when it comes to fruity, floral blends, and Bourbon Coffee does an excellent job of playing up Rwanda’s true strength in that arena. They have an extensive selection of roasts and espresso drinks to choose from, but the line is always long so you have plenty of time to settle on something, no worries.

Their espresso blend has a pleasant, fruity tang that lingers in the back of your throat. They’re also super speedy, which is pretty awesome considering how busy they are ALL the time. The baristas are skillful and knowledgeable, though perhaps a little standoffish. You would be too, though, with the never-ending crowds they put up with. Speaking of the crowd, good luck finding a seat among the somewhat snooty intelligentsia that frequents Bourbon. Between the studying students’ piles of books and papers and the “solopreneurs” (got that one from a Yelp review of the place) and their Macbooks, there isn’t much room or willingness to create space for newcomers. Don’t let that deter you though – I’ve never gone without a seat, and the annoyed sigh and shuffling of stuff doesn’t detract from the experience at all.

Rating: 7.5/10

We all have our methods of coping with that unfortunate, innate human condition of incessant dissatisfaction, and there’s nothing wrong with it. I think the important thing is keeping it in check – recognize it when it’s happening, drown your sorrows in caffeine, and go back to your boring city living and stop complaining. Overly specific example, but you get the point. Don’t go to the other side, it’s never really greener.

‘Til next time…

One thought on “Greener Grass

Leave a Reply

